Papua New Guinea & West Papua


Papua is a synonym for the second largest island in the world – New Guinea, which is for political reasons divided into two parts. The separate and free state Papua New Guinea takes the whole eastern part of the island. The western part belongs to Indonesia. By the local pepole it is unofficially called West Papua. Since 2001, it has been divided into two provinces Irian Jaya and the Papua province, Indonesia (based on Special Autonomy Law No.21/2001 for Papua province, effect on 1.1.2002).

Papua Satelite Map

Carstensz Pyramid (Puncak Jaya)

Carstensz Pyramid

Carstensz Pyramid wall Photo©JahodaPe­

The Carstensz Pyramid (Pyuncak Jaya) - 4884 m (16023 ft) is the highest peak of New Guinea and of the whole Australian and Oceania region. On the top of Carstensz Pyramid is often covered with snow. Below it there is Carstensz Glacier. It is unusual, because we are only 4° south of the equator…

New Guinea Island

New Guinea is one of the wildest islands in the world. Except for the immense natural wealth, New Guinea is also unbelievably rich with the cultural heritage of its primitive nations: Korowai and Kombai – the Tree People, Yali – the dwarf nation of negrits, Asmat – legendary cannibals, and the nations from the basin of river Sepik

Besides the expeditions into these areas, "festivals in Goroka and Mt. Hagen are also very interesting. The well-known island of Vanuatu is not far from Papua either.